Posted by: Louise | March 3, 2010

Child’s Tool Belt Tutorial

I’ve been loving learning how to sew over the past year, and have really appreciated all the great ladies out there who have taken the time to write tutorials on how to make toys, clothes, cushion covers, curtains……… They have been so useful to me as I stumble around trying to figure out how to sew. Ewan asked me to make him a Tool Belt and after searching I couldn’t find any tutorials on how to make one like I had in mind. So I thought I would make up my own and write my first tutorial.

I hope this is useful to someone, please remember, I’m just learning how to sew and this is my first attempt to write a tutorial! Please let me know if it doesn’t make sense:) and sorry for the dark photo’s, I craft at night.

Child’s Tool Belt Tutorial.

DSC06810.JPG.png

DSC06809.JPG.png

What you’ll need.

  • Approx 1/2 Yard fabric (and a small 9 1/2″ x 7″ piece in a matching fabric)
  • 5″ of 2″ wide velcro
  • Matching (or contrasting) thread.
  • Sewing machine and basic sewing supplies.

It’s made in three parts.All seam allowances are 1/4″

Part One – The Belt

  • Cut fabric for belt: 28 1/2 ” long by 5 1/2” wide (my son is 4 and has a 22″ waist, so adjust accordingly)
  • Fold in half, right sides together and iron a fold.
  • Open up and pin 5” of soft velcro onto top left corner and a 4” piece of scratchy velcro onto the bottom right corner.

DSC06760.JPG.png

  • Sew velcro in place. Fold fabric right sides to together again. Sew all the way around leaving a 2’ gap and turn it the right way around.
DSC06764.JPG.png

  • Tuck seam under, pin and iron the belt.

DSC06765.JPG.png

  • Sew very close to the edge the whole way around.
DSC06766.JPG.png
Part one is complete!

Part Two: Pocket one

This pocket will hold four tools.

  • Cut Fabric A 9 1/2” long and 15” wide

  • Cut Fabric B 9 1/2 “ long and 7” wide (Can be a contrasting fabric)

  • Fold both pieces of fabric in half wrong sides together and iron. Open Fabric A again.

  • Pin one of the 9 1/2” edges of Fabric A (which should be unfolded) to both of the edges of fabric B (which should still be folded).
DSC06768.JPG.png

  • Sew along edge.

  • Divide the fabric into three even pockets (3 1/4, 3”, 3 1/4”) and sew vertical lines.
DSC06769.JPG.png

DSC06770.JPG.png

  • Fold the rest of piece A over so right sides are togehter and piece B is inside. Sew around leaving a 2” gap so it can be turned around.

  • Clip corners and turn around and tuck in the open seam, pin and iron. Sew the whole way around very close to the edge.
  • To finish this pocket you need to make a little loop for the hammer to rest in.

  • Cut a piece of fabric 5 1/2” X4. Fold in half right sides together and sew around leaving a 2′ gap so it can be turned around. Tuck in seam, pin, iron and sew very close around the edge.
DSC06772.JPG.png

DSC06774.JPG.png

  • Attach the loop to the pocket by sewing it along the seams for the middle pocket (see finished tool belt at the top if this is confusing)
  • To attach the pocket onto the belt, measure 5” in from the edge, and pin the edge of the pocket against the 5” mark. Sew into place along the top and down the two sides sides.

DSC06776.JPG.png

DSC06777.JPG.png

Part Three – Pocket two

This little pocket will hold all the screws, bolts, nuts etc. You could also make two of the first pocket instead of this one.

  • Cut two pieces of fabric 4″X7 1/2″ and 6″X7 1/2″
  • Hem the top of both pieces
  • Pin folds in the 6”x7 1/2” piece, so it measures 4”

DSC06779.JPG.png

  • Pin the to pieces right sides together and sew the sides and bottom leaving top open.
DSC06782.JPG.png
  • Attach it to the other side of the belt just beside where the velcro ends.
And your done! and you have one happy little Handy man.
DSC06808.JPG.png
DSC06809.JPG.png
DSC06810.JPG.png
I’m joining the show and tell party at Blue Cricket


Responses

  1. I love it. You come up with the greatest ideas for boy’s costumes!

  2. Hey I am very impressed Louise! You were always creative but this is something else! I hope youre all keeping ok and youre feeling a bit better xo

  3. Nice job! He looks so happy. Thank you for sharing this with us!

  4. You’re moving to the next level of sewing with figuring this out from scratch! Thanks for linking to Craftastic Monday – I’d love if you added the arty button to your blog:)

  5. That is super cute!!! I love it!

  6. Too cute! I need to make my little boy one of these! His tools are all over our playroom 🙂
    Please link up to my linky party.
    http://www.seaminglysmitten.blogspot.com
    Jenny

  7. Your tutorial turned out great! My youngest son would have loved on of these when he was young. He carried all of his plastic ‘tools’ around with him, everywhere we went. Most of the time they ended up in an old backpack! You are so right, there are so many great tutorials out there for kids etc. I wish I’d had many of these ideas when all my kids were young. I guess I’ll just have to wait for grandchildren! I followed you home from seamingly smitten.

  8. Great idea! I just made one for my son Kyle for Christmas! I think he and Lydia must be close in age. I followed your basic idea and added a few of my own! I wouldn’t have been brave enough to try it without you! Thanks!


Leave a comment

Categories