Posted by: Louise | November 27, 2011

Trying to keep Christ the center for our kids this Christmas

For the past two years at Christmas we’ve done a “Christmas countdown” with the kids. Each day in December we read a small portion of the Christmas story together and then did some sort of craft/activity that went along with it. You can see some of the activities that we have done in the past with links here.

The kids now just expect that that is what we do at Christmas, but to be honest, I didn’t really want to do all the same crafts again this year (I’ve got a low tolerance for repetition, which is not good when you have young kids!). However, with homeschooling, I don’t have the time or energy to be looking for new ideas or thinking them up myself. Then last night I got a great ebook that I’m pretty excited about and wanted to share with you all.

It’s called Truth in the Tinsel and the website says:

“This ebook will lead you and your children on your own experience through the Christmas Story. You’ll take a few minutes each day in reading the Christmas Story directly from the Bible, making a fun ornament craft and talking about it together.”

That was exactly what I wanted. Something hands on, involving scripture and not overly time consuming. I printed the book and had a quick look at it with the kids today, and we are all pretty excited about getting started with it on the 1st. I’m not anticipating that we will make every ornament, but having it all laid out, with some templates and a supply list for each day, is going to make it more likely to happen!

You can buy it and download it here for $4.99.

Happy Advent everyone!

PS this is what she said when she was asked what the target age for the book is:

I wrote the book for my kids who are 3 and 5. But I began doing these advent ornaments when my daughter was only 1. And on the other hand, I think if your kids like to do crafts, they’ll enjoy the book no matter how old they are!



Responses

  1. […] Article FROM https://markandlouise.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/trying-to-keep-christ-the-centre-for-our-kids-this-chr… SPONSOR- Christian Games for kids-fun and faith based curriculum GET YOUR FREE PASS […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

