Posted by: Mark | June 24, 2011

Expectant Faith

The bible says:

But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways. James 1.6-8

Man that is so not like me a lot of time. I pray to God expecting not to receive. However, just this morning I came across two different examples of just the opposite of me – the way it should be.

Firstly, I see John Piper writing on the desiring God blog where he talks of the upcoming Desiring God conference and its theme of world evangelisation. He mentions that this will be a strategic conference because many will go into full time service because God will use it. He finishes with the quote:

That is what I expect to happen for hundreds at this conference. And the ripple effect of those altered lives will be incalculable for decades and centuries to come.

The second was a video that I watched at – http://www.godvine.com/Baby-Given-Little-Hope-Receives-an-Amazing-Miracle-456.html. I don’t see any way to embed it here so I just offer it to you as a link. Basic synopsis: very sick boy who can’t be helped by doctors and should die, parents pray and fast, God heals, boy still alive.

God can and does answer prayer. Prayer offered in faith. It is a joy to worship and follow an omnipotent God who wants me to talk to Him. If my vision of God would be correct only a little faith is all that is needed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

