Posted by: Mark | April 29, 2011

Priorities

It is very sad to me sometimes when I look at Christian families and churches and see infighting and brokenness. It is even sadder when some of these problems arise because people believe they are doing God’s work.

My prayer for myself is that in doing God’s work in my life that my family and relationships will be strong and God honoring above any other thing that I do. That as much as it is up to me I will leave peaceably with others and put my family first.

Remember at all times that the world knows we are Christians by the way we love one another.

I was encouraged in this just today reading this answer that Albert Mohler gave to the following question in an interview here:

TT: Although there are many, is there one lesson the Lord has taught you that you would care to share with us?

AM: I think the one great lesson the Lord has taught me over these years is that the importance of the family and the local congregation supersedes every other relationship to which the Christian is called. Christians demonstrate the glory of God and the power of the gospel by the way we marry and stay married, by the way we raise our children, by the way we love each other, and by the way we live faithfully in the congregation of believers. In the end, I fear that far too much energy is devoted to and far too many hopes are invested in institutions, programs, and projects that will not last. The centrality of Christ’s purpose to glorify himself in His church and the blessings of God that are directed to the precious gift of the family — these far exceed our other allegiances.

Leave a Reply

Categories

