Posted by: Mark | April 13, 2011

Philippians 2.19-24 – 3 Questions

Take some time to read and re-read the following section from Philippians and ask yourself the questions that follow:

I hope in the Lord Jesus to send Timothy to you soon, so that I too may be cheered by news of you. For I have no one like him, who will be genuinely concerned for your welfare. For they all seek their own interests, not those of Jesus Christ. But you know Timothy’s proven worth, how as a son with a father he has served with me in the gospel. I hope therefore to send him just as soon as I see how it will go with me, and I trust in the Lord that shortly I myself will come also.  Philippians 2.19-24
  1. … so that I too may be cheered by news of you … Could my mentors/home church/spiritual family say that they want to hear what I am doing and am like so that they could be cheered? Could they say this with confidence? Do I, through my actions and character, have this effect?
  2. … they all seek their own interests … [b]ut you know Timothy’s proven worth … Do I seek my own interests first or are the interests of others and the Glory of God above all things in my life? Have I proven this by the way I live my life? Do my actions speak with the voice of my faith and thoughts or with the voice of my flesh?
  3. … I hope therefore to send him just as soon as I see how it will go with me … Do the people I work with think like this about me? Or do they wish I was not here so they could be more efficient, relaxed, peaceful etc? Does my presence benefit those around me or hinder them? Am I like Timothy was to Paul?

For other posts like this click here  

Leave a Reply

Categories

