Posted by: Mark | March 7, 2011

Today I thank God for …

… it was granted her to clothe herself with fine linen, bright and pure”—for the fine linen is the righteous deeds of the saints Rev. 19.8


Picture 131.png

This week I want to thank God for a sense of purpose.

As a person who follows God my definition and reason for being is in God Himself. As someone who has recognized his state before a Holy God and received His free to receive gift of salvation through His Son and is trying to live my life out as an offering of thanks for that, I have a purpose. The verse above is describing the bride of Christ in the last times. This bride is the church. Not the pew filled, high ceilinged, nicely polished and decorated buildings we sometimes think of as church but the body of people who have sought forgiveness from God and live a life aimed at pleasing Him. The saints. The same saints who in this picture of the end times are credited with clothing the church with fine linen, bright and pure through their righteous deeds. Through those deeds that fed the hungry, clothed the naked, comforted the needy and aimed at making the world reflect more of the love that is God.

This is my purpose in life – to be a part of clothing the church in fine linen at the end times. To be a part of showing humanity that God cares and is love and His method of doing this is through those that love Him and are called according to His purposes. My purpose in life is to live in such a way that one day when I stand before God and all the books are opened and I am asked what I done with what He gave me I have an answer to give that glorifies God for entrusting those gifts to me and empowering me to use them. To live in such a way to receive a crown to throw at His feet as an offering.

I have a purpose – to live for my King.

Leave a Reply

Categories

