Posted by: Mark | February 28, 2011

Philippians 2.14-18 – 3 Questions

Take some time to read and re-read the following section from Philippians and ask yourself the questions that follow:

Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain. Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. Likewise you also should be glad and rejoice with me. Philippians 2.14-18

  1. Do all things without grumbling or questioning … What should this look like in my life? As God calls me to do things and puts me in certain circumstances what is my first reaction? Do I say things like – thats not fair!! or why me!! or do I take the attitude of not grumbling and complaining and rejoice that God is all wise and is leading me down this path? Is my view of God such that I KNOW that he works all things together for good for those that love him and are called according to his purposes (Romans 8.28) so I can accept what life throws at me as God working out his purposes? Seriously, do I live this way?
  2. … among whom you shine as lights in the world … Am I light to the world? Do I live in such a way that my life is a benefit to the world because I reflect God to it?
  3. … that I did not run in vain or labor in vain … Paul’s ability to be proud in the day of Christ is dependent partly on the performance of the Philippians. Taking this as an example I can reflect on both sides of this coin. For whom can I say this in my life? For whom can I say that I am willing to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith? Or from the other side, who inspires me to greater faith? At no point in this should I idolize that person or let myself be idolized always looking to God who works in me both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

For other posts like this click here  

Leave a Reply

Categories

