Posted by: Louise | February 7, 2011

1000 Gifts – Dare to Live Fully right where you are

I read This book over Christmas. By the time I got to the 4th chapter I realised I was reading the book too fast. I needed to go back and reread what I had already read. I needed to pause, think, pray. I needed to breathe in the words and pray them into reality in my life.

To say the book gave me much food for thought would be an understatement. I wish I had a day to sit and read it again, to digest more. To think more about the scriptures and how I need to ingrain them into my life. To learn how to see the ordinary, the stressful, the difficult, the funny, the peaceful, the noisy, the exhaustingly hot…. as gifts of Grace that can draw me closer to him. That he has given me ALL things and that I need to pay attention to ALL things and be thankful for ALL things. When my days are rushing by and fatigue is all that I feel by the end of them, and frustration with the little people God has entrusted to me wins over patience too often, I need to pause and remember – ALL things. ALL things. I need to pay attention and be thankful – in ALL things. By God’s Grace.

I’ve realised that for me, God is so Gracious as I learn too slowly. I’m looking forward to learning this lesson with Him.

I would recommend this book to anyone that finds themselves stressed, regularly frustrated, fearful or anxious. Also to people who just want to learn what it means to live a life of thankfulness.

You can buy it here.

Responses

  1. yes, yes, yes!! as I begin to slow down and pay attention, to notice His gifts, it is then that I capture something of the JOY that I was meant to know. #500…seeing God using this book in a friend’s life, too! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

