Posted by: Mark | December 10, 2010

Philippians 2.3-4 – 3 Questions

This passage deals with some personal character traits. Take some time to read and re-read the following section from Philippians and ask yourself the questions that follow:

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.. Philippians 2.3-4

  1. Don’t be selfish. The dictionary on my MAC defines this as one who is concerned chiefly with ones own personal profit or pleasure. In the day I have just lived what was the main motivation for the things that I have done – me, others, God, something else? In that last hour what has been the motivation? Do I live my life chiefly concerned about myself? Do I hold my possessions with a loose grip so that others can benefit from them if needed?
  2. Don’t try to impress others. The ESV says “Do nothing from rivalry“. Rivalry is competition for superiority in the same field. Am I trying to one up on others? In the day I have just lived have I acted in competition or in opposition of others so as to appear better than them? In the past hour have I lived this way? If not what has been the reason or motivation for my actions where they have been in competition or opposition to others?
  3. Thinking of others as better than yourselves … take an interest in others too. How much do I think of myself? Now how much do I think of the people I clashed with or disagreed with today? How much do I think of the people I don’t like? Do I think of them as as important as me? As significant as me? What about other people who are suffering around the world and are not as well off as me – how do I think of them in relation to myself? Or worse still as I think of these questions do I realize I don’t even think about them?

For other posts like this click here  

Leave a Reply

Categories

