Posted by: Louise | October 8, 2010

Bible Memory for Children – The 10 Commandments

How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:9-11


Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.

Psalm 119:105


They say that children can memorise easily and quickly and we are finding it to be so true! Ewan and Lydia are such sponges and we want to saturate their little minds with scripture. We’ve been doing different Bible memory related things over the past while and I thought I would share some of the resources that I have found.

The first theme for memorisation was the 10 commandments. After searching for good (free) visuals, I couldn’t find anything that was as good as the visuals I learnt them from when I was a child. I attended a CEF Good New Club in my local village and the ladies that ran it did an amazing job of drawing visuals by hand. I remember learning the commandments from these hand drawn visuals as a girl and then teaching children from the visuals when I was a teenage helper in the club. Well would you believe that not only is the Good News Club still running, but they are STILL using those hand drawn visuals to teach the commandments – what a legacy to those dedicated ladies who are now in heaven.

After a few emails, I was able to get the visuals scanned (thanks Karen and Hazel). I put them together in a file that has other memory verses that we have learnt. Here are some of them:

 


IMG_3065.JPG.png

IMG_3062.JPG.png

IMG_3061.JPG.png

IMG_3057.JPG.png

IMG_3066.JPG.png

The fact that the pictures are the numbers has really helped Ewan (and me) remember them. It’s been months since we learnt these and I recently asked Ewan if he remembered them, I was pleasantly surprised that He got most of them. There were two that he couldn’t remember exactly: “You shouldn’t look at what you friends have and want it so much it makes you angry or sad” or in other words “You shall not covet! Or my favourite – number 7 – “you shouldn’t get a new wife, if your old one is still alive!” Good enough for a four year old. We can fill in the extra details when he is older πŸ™‚ .

Does anyone know where you can buy these visuals or are they original to “my” Good News Club? (If you want them, let me know and I can email them to you).

I also found a great song for the commandments, although I was totally tired of the tune by the end of the ten weeks! But having a song helps with repetition when your participants are 2 and 4 πŸ™‚ . The tune and the lyrics can be found here.

I also found some cute colouring pages. Each commandment is on a carriage of a train. In theory it would make a really cute train and visual for the ten weeks you work on this. Ewan, however, HATES to colour in, so we didn’t get far in with this activity!

It was also fun to tell some of the stories of the Children of Israel escaping from Egypt, and God giving the commandments to Moses to try to put the commandments in context.

Now that Ewan knows the 10 commandments it’s made a big difference to everyday chats that we have about behaviour.

Next we did the Fruit of the Spirt. I’ll write about that another time.

Responses

  1. […] the time we had finished learning The 10 Commandments, I reread Don’t Make me Count to Three by Ginger Plowman. I was challenged about being more […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

