Posted by: Mark | October 4, 2010

Philippians 1.20-26 – 3 Questions

This is one of my favorite passages of scripture. Take some time to read and re-read the following section from Philippians and ask yourself the questions that follow:

For I fully expect and hope that I will never be ashamed, but that I will continue to be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past. And I trust that my life will bring honor to Christ, whether I live or die. For to me, living means living for Christ, and dying is even better. But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me.But for your sakes, it is better that I continue to live. Knowing this, I am convinced that I will remain alive so I can continue to help all of you grow and experience the joy of your faith. And when I come to you again, you will have even more reason to take pride in Christ Jesus because of what he is doing through me. Philippians 1.20-26

  1. Do we fully expect and hope that no matter what happens in our lives we will love God so much that we will stand for Him in all situations as we have in the past? Are we ever ashamed of standing up for Him? Do we have confidence that He can keep us from falling and present us blameless in the last days?
  2. Are we so convinced of the joy of heaven and God’s presence that we can say it is better for us to die than to live?
  3. Can we truly say, when we honestly evaluate our lives, that it is better that we stay alive for the sake of our colleagues, family, church, friends, country etc?

For other posts like this click here  

Leave a Reply

Categories

