Posted by: Mark | September 15, 2010

Lessons from Job X

This is a series and the first post is here.

Lessons from Job for when we go through trial

10. Suffering is an opportunity for God to speak and teach

Then Job replied to the Lord “I know that you can do anything, and no one can stop you. You asked, ‘Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorance?’ It is I—and I was talking about things I knew nothing about, things far too wonderful for me. You said, ‘Listen and I will speak! I have some questions for you, and you must answer them.’ I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. I take back everything I said, and I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.” Job 42.1-6

See also Job 38.1-7 or all of Job 38-41

This is the tenth post in a series about lessons we can learn through suffering so it seems to be a little mute of a point that we can be taught by God through suffering. I put it here to only emphasis the point that as we go through hard times I think we should never take our eyes of God and the lessons He is teaching us through it. God loves us more than we can think, imagine or begin to articulate. God wants the best for us as His children. God is in full control of the universe. We need to trust Him.

CS Lewis describes suffering this way: “God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world”.

As we go through trials and troubles and suffering in our lives lets listen for the voice of God. Lets always ask what God is teaching us, telling us or showing us in the situations we find ourselves.

But above all else lets never take our eyes off Him or our trust from Him. Lets know this God we love and serve so intimately that we can say in all situations of life with Job:

Though he slay me I will hope in Him Job 13.15a

Leave a Reply

Categories

