Posted by: Mark | July 5, 2010

Lessons from Job

Some time ago I was asked to give a review of Job for a course I was on. The review was to take Job from the angle of how it could help people who were suffering or those that were trying to help those who were suffering. I thought I would take the opportunity to write up my notes here so that I can refresh my memory of what is a hugely beneficial book. This will probably take a few posts as when I spoke it took me over an hour to deliver but I hope to be much more precise when I write it down.

Before I write the first part I wanted to give people an outline of what I intend to write so you can choose to either tune in or tune out. However, before you make your decision I wanted to emphasis the importance of being ready to suffer. I have a strong belief that as Christians if we follow and honor God we are destined to go through suffering in our life. In the bible it is a statement of when you go through suffering not if. It is something that we need to prepare for. It is also a reality of life that sometimes life is poop.

The second part of my study are thoughts from Job that we need to remember when we help others who are suffering. Again as Christians this is not an optional extra in our life. We are instructed to weep with those who weep and rejoice with those who rejoice. How can we do this if we avoid people when they are suffering and don’t try to comfort them.

The headings of the first part of this study are as follows:

  1. There are things we don’t understand about suffering
  2. What we have is from God and is not ours. We were blessed to have it
  3. Not all people react the same way to suffering
  4. Suffering is not always a consequence of sin – the health/wealth gospel does not hold
  5. Suffering reveals why we love God
  6. God is always in control and suffering comes from Him
  7. Suffering really hurts
  8. It’s seems OK to ask why
  9. Even those who seemingly have it together can loose it
  10. Suffering is an opportunity for God to speak and teach

As I publish these posts I will try and remember to come back here and make these links and when I get closer to writing the second section I will post the headings here. My prayer is these posts at the minimum cause us all to think more about these topics but hopefully can bless us all and encourage us all to love God more. Please feel free to leave comments or contact me personally on any point that I write. Blessings.
Leave a Reply

Categories

