Posted by: Louise | February 26, 2010

What’ my motivation?

I’ve been continuing to love going to my ladies Bible study. I praise God to have like minded friends to challenge me and encourage me as we study His word together every week. Recently we started to study 1st John. There have been some encouraging verses and some that are hard to understand, but one particular theme has been challenging me. Judgement.

Even as Christians we will stand before the Judgement seat. Not to be tried to see if we will be saved or lost – Christ’s work is complete and has fully paid for the punishment of our sins:

1 John 1:9 But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.

&

1 John 2: 1&2 My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate who pleads our case before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who is truly righteous. 2 He himself is the sacrifice that atones for our sins—and not only our sins but the sins of all the world.

But our works will be tried.

Romans 14:12 Each of us will have to give a personal account to God.

&

1 Corinthains 3:10-15 Because of God’s special favor to me, I have laid the foundation like an expert builder. Now others are building on it. But whoever is building on this foundation must be very careful. For no one can lay any other foundation than the one we already have–Jesus Christ. Now anyone who builds on that foundation may use gold, silver, jewels, wood, hay, or straw. But there is going to come a time of testing at the judgment day to see what kind of work each builder has done. Everyone’s work will be put through the fire to see whether or not it keeps its value. If the work survives the fire, that builder will receive a reward. But if the work is burned up, the builder will suffer great loss. The builders themselves will be saved, but like someone escaping through a wall of flames.

These verse’s have been a good reminder for me to make the most of each day and focus on the eternal rather than the temporary. They reminded me that God is interested in my salvation, but also how I live, what I spent my time on, how I blessed others…… However, I wasn’t prepared for this next verse as we discussed it together:

1 cor 4: 5 So don’t make judgments about anyone ahead of time—before the Lord returns. For he will bring our darkest secrets to light and will reveal our private motives. Then God will give to each one whatever praise is due.

The fact that God will judge not just our works but also our motivation behind our works kind of stood out to me. I’m sure I’ve been taught this before, but for some reason it really convicted me this time. What is my motivation for the things that I spend my time doing? What does God want my motivation to be? Well I know He wants me to glorify Him and not myself, but am I doing that consistently? It brought me to my knees again

Psalm 139:23:24 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts. Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

