Posted by: Mark | February 5, 2010

Christians ? (part 6) “… so that you may know that you have eternal life”

I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 John 5.13

This is the last part in a series that started here.

So why have I written 5 posts on what Christians should be. Was the purpose so that we can now get our evidences together and go around picking out who is a Christian and letting those that are falling short know all about it. Let me say categorically – NO. (Luke 6.37)

No, this message is not for someone else it is for me and it is for you, personally.

Something has always disturbed me in my Christian walk and that is, assurance. It always bothered me that some Christians seemed to teach that if you could remember a date that you “made a commitment” then you were sorted. You were in the club and there was no getting out. It just didn’t seem to add up to me. Now don’t get me wrong I believe fully that nothing we do can ever get us into heaven and that it is all by God’s grace that we are saved (Eph 2.8). However, it just seemed to make no sense that some people could with all honesty say that Christ was Lord of their life and that they loved God and still live like they wanted.

Then some months back, when Louise was teaching a course to some Sunday School teachers on how to teach children the bible, she came to the counseling portion of the teaching. In her notes I noticed the definition of assurance depending on two things. The first was a decision and the second was evidence of God’s work in our life. This definition solidified some thinking that was going on inside of me.

If we are truly christians then there should be two things evident. The first is a definite and real, verbal and emotional, mind and heart, commitment to God as God and to Christ’s work as the only way for us to get to heaven (Romans 10.9-10). The second thing is an evidence of God changing our lives through the power of His Spirit as a result of this decision. When we become Christians God’s spirit lives inside us (1 Cor. 3.16-17, 1 Cor. 12.13, Romans 5.1-5, Eph. 1.11-14, 2 Tim. 1.13-14). That cannot happen without an affect.

The chief purpose of me writing this was to solidify this in my mind by thinking through some of the things that should be in my life as evidence of the Spirit. It was an exercise in self-examination.

As a secondary benefit I hope that someone out there also learns something. As you have read through these posts I encourage you to examine your life and look for the evidence of God’s Spirit. If you don’t see these things in your life and growing in your life then can I encourage you to get before the creator of the universe and ask Him to speak to you. If you do see these things in your life then rejoice as someone who ” .. know[s] that you have eternal life … “.


< Part 5

Responses

  1. amen. our theology determines our morality. knowing GOD transforms us! that’s humbling.

  2. […] Part 6 > […]

  3. Thank you mark


Leave a Reply

Categories

