Posted by: Louise | December 23, 2009

Seeking the giver, not the gift

On the run up to Christmas, Mark and I have been thinking about how we can keep Christ at the centre of Christmas for ourselves and our children. When much of the excitement about Christmas is the gifts, parties, special food (it’s always about the food for us!) and fun family times, we want to put in place definite things in our daily routine that ensure we and our kids don’t miss the point of the celebration. We want them to see Jesus not just the gifts.

It reminds me of something that God has been teaching me lately. The thought was sparked by a line of a song that we sometimes sing in church. I don’t even know the name of the song, but there is a line in it that says “seeking the giver and not just the gifts”.

As I think about my prayer life I’m challenged by the amount of time I spend asking for things that I perceive are needs. It may be healing for myself and family members, or help with a difficult situation, or help with the ministry things that we do. It’s not that I think that it’s wrong to pray for these things. When Jesus was here on earth, he showed us that he cared about the physical needs of individuals, whether it was healing or turning water into wine, Jesus answered many many requests for help.

But God has been teaching me that prayer can and I think should be more than a catalogue of needs, desires and requests about just the physical realm . When I look at some of the prayers that Paul had for believers, I’m struck that they are all about spiritual growth, about deeper knowledge of his love and relationship with God. Look for example at Eph 3:14-19

When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will

empower you with inner strength through his Spirit.

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him.

Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.

And may you have the

power to understand,

as all God’s people should,

how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.

May you

experience the love of Christ,

though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will

be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Now all glory to God, who is able,

through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

When I think about these verses and others I’m challenged that I should want to know God more, and experience Him more in my life. Only He can give me the understanding and the ability to experience His amazing love that makes me complete, have fullness of life and inner strength.

I’m challenged to seek the Giver and not just the temporal gifts.

Responses

  1. […] More here: Seeking the giver, not the gift « Mark and Louise's Family Blog […]

  2. So true! My prayers are so lacking…


Leave a Reply

Categories

