Posted by: Mark | December 18, 2009

Christians ? (part 3)

This post is a series and the first part can be found here.

Resulting Obedience

I have two children. Lydia is a lovely sweet, generous, caring girl who sometimes is very annoyingly stubborn. Ewan is a funny, imaginative, sweet boy who has a knack for getting into mischief.

I love my kids dearly. As a father I show this love by caring for my kids, spending time with them, training them in the ways of the Lord, play with them, providing for them and in other appropriate ways. However, I do not show this love by obeying them.

My kids love me dearly. Lydia shows this to me by cuddling me, coming to the door when I come home just to see me, asking for me when I am not there, and giving me her cute little smile. Ewan shows me this by punching me in the stomach, fighting with me, reading books with me, telling me, and just generally wanting to be around me and spend time with me. My kids also show that they love me by respecting me and obeying me.

Louise and I have raised our kids from they had any understanding on the principal of Ephesians 6.1. In actual fact this was the first verse the Ewan learned. It is appropriate for children to obey their father (parents). That is the way families work. That is the way that God has created them.

God is our heavenly father. He is a perfect father and is also the perfect God. He is all powerful and all knowing. It is appropriate that we show God that we love him by obeying him. Jesus said in John 14.15, If you love me you will keep my commands. As far as Christ was concerned a natural outworking of love for Him (God) was an obedient life.

When John was writing 1 John so that we would know we have eternal life (1 John 5.13) he seen it fit to put in the following verses (1 John 2.3-6)

By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him: the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He walked.

Obedience to God is not an optional extra for Christians. It is part of who we are in Christ. It is a must. We need to know and meditate on God’s word to know His heart so that we can follow His ways.


<Part 2

Part 4 >

Responses

  1. […] Part 3 > […]

  2. […] < Part 3 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

