Posted by: Louise | November 20, 2009

Making the most of each season.

When Mark and I decided that I would be a “stay at home mum” and focus most of my attention on the kids while they were small, I knew it was what I really wanted to do, but I also knew there would be many challenges.

As the years have ticked along (Ewan is almost four) there have been many very enjoyable days of laughter, story telling, crafts, songs, nursery rhymes…. However, some have been sleep deprived and felt very long and I’ve even had some days when I would love to drop the kids off at a baby sitter and re-enter the “real world” where life does not evolve around naps, spoon feeding, bathing and the worst – nappy changing!

I was having one of “those days” when Ewan just turned two. As if on que, he realized he had a mind and will of his own and was going to use it at the most inconvenient or embarrassing moments. Questioning the wisdom of our decision of me staying at home and if I would make it through Ewan’s second year without becoming even more mentally unhinged, I realized that God had given me this road to walk down only once. Ewan was never going to be my bald, inquisitive two year old again.

christmas-07-007.jpg.png

I had a choice, to focus on the challenges or focus on the privilege. To think about the other “options” to staying at home, or to use that mental energy to think about how I could build into the little lives God had entrusted to us to disciple. It was that day I decided to make the most of every “season” in my life. This “season” is one where most of my time is spent at home (or the park) with little people who need me to mold and shape their character and worldview. They need me to do the mundane things like change nappies, fill sippy cups, and recite nursery rhymes that had lost their appeal to me on the third repetition, but, somehow still seem funny to them the 100th time. They also need me to be there to teach and train in those teachable moments that come along everyday and to answer those never ending questions that sometimes seem so simple and other times seem so profound.

So for now, I’m choosing to be a happy “stay at home mum”. The choice for me was never really if I would re-entered the “real world”, but was if I would choose to be happy with this “season” or live it thinking about the alternatives. Looking back I’m soooooo glad I made the choice I did, even in the challenging moments!

Leave a Reply

Categories

