Posted by: Mark | November 18, 2009

The wisdom? of Miley Cyrus

I know I am in for a lot of abuse on this one – but here we go.

I have to make a very honest if perhaps slightly embarrassing confession. I am a Miley Cyrus (that is Billy Ray’s daughter) fan!! Recently I have been listening to one of her songs, The Climb, on youtube and have found some of the lyrics quite interesting.

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb


As a Christian (who is now in his 30s) I appreciate what this 16-year-old has to say. I don’t agree with it all as for me as a Christian it so about what is on the other side – being with Christ (Phil. 1 v 21). However, I think she has a good general idea. We need to be living life and embracing the bumps and bangs we go through as part of that life experience. I do of course write this as someone who in the whole scheme of things has had an easy life but I hope and pray the lessons I learn (even if they are from a 16-year-old pop singer) when things are good will be remembered when things are bad.

It is good to remember as well that these bumps and bangs are put there by God to train, equip and refine us (James 1 v 2-3) – that is when they are not the consequences (I said consequences not punishment) of our sin.

Responses

  1. get the important application… fair point…… but it is miley cyrus…. and you are 31 years old!!!! uuummmm….

  2. ps…. still love ya!

  3. Miley Cyrus…. thats embarassing… In related news, this might be a tad depressing – Miley didnt write that song. It was written by Jesse Alexander and John Mabe….

  4. Would it surprise you Mark to know that Stuart absolutely loves that song and has his own personal copy? Thought not…

    • doesnt surprise me – great minds and all that 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

